By Leo Sveikauskas

I remember in the fall of 1955 I was a freshman at Harvard College.  I took economics as one of my first courses, and was placed in Cynthia’s section which met at Lamont Library.  I remember that, at the first class Cynthia started out with a brief presentation of her biography, and said to the class “I thought you might like to know” this information; it is amazing how strong the implicit bias against women was then.

 I remember how good and interesting the Samuelson text was then.   I also remember the students in that small section of 20, which included one of Adlai Stevenson’s sons (Borden), and a senior who was a member of the Lee family which was then very prominent in venture finance.  The class was so interesting that I decided to major in Economics, and in later years read Cynthia’s work, especially her joint work with Irma Adelman.  I have been working as an economist in the Bureau of Labor Statistics here in Washington for forty years, and together with my wife Cathy (who has a degree in Economic History as well as Economics), we have become regular attendees at the Washington Area Economic History Seminar.  We have both had the pleasure of talking to Cynthia again over the years.

 I always remember how gutsy and gallant Cynthia was.  It is so good for humanity that polio has been largely eradicated.  God bless Cynthia Taft Morris.  In common with various Oriental religions, I believe in reincarnation and like the idea of Cynthia reincarnating with full use of her limbs once again.
 
 — Leo Sveikauskas, Harvard College Class of 1959 
Leave a Reply

